

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 7, 2023 HELEN KAWAGOE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 701 E. CARSON STREET CARSON, CA 90745 8:00 AM

JOINT MEETING AGENDA REGULAR MEETING OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AND SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Economic Development Commission Members:

Ray Aldridge, Chair Deborah Wallace, Vice Chairperson Christopher Childers, Commissioner Trini Jimenez, Commissioner Clyde Sparrow, Commissioner

Katie Pandolfo, Secretary Darren Embry, Commissioner Blake Kelley, Commissioner Nasser Watar, Commissioner

Economic Development Alternates:

Ted Cordova Edward Apodaca Delilah Lanoix Harris

Economic Development Staff:

John Raymond, Assistant City Manager of Economic Development Saied Naaseh, Director of Community Development Sandy Solis, Commission Secretary LaToya Butler, Innovation and Business Liaison

Planning Commission Members:

Dianne Thomas, Chair (Interim) Louis Diaz, Vice-Chair (Interim) Del Huff, Commissioner Frederick Docdocil, Commissioner Richard Hernandez, Commissioner

Carlos Guerra, Commissioner Jaime Monteclaro, Commissioner Karimu Rashad, Commissioner

Planning Commission Alternates:

(Vacant) DeQuita Mfume

Leticia Wilson

Planning Commission Staff:

Chris Palmer, AICP, Planning Manager Laura Gonzalez, Secretary

Benjamin Jones, Assistant City Attorney

"In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, if you require a disability related modification or accommodation to attend or participate in this meeting, including auxiliary aids or services, please call the Community Development Department office at 310-952-1761 least 48 hours prior to the meeting." (Government Code Section 54954.2)

Note: although this is a regular meeting of the Economic Development Commission, the Planning Commission has been invited to attend and a majority of the Planning Commission is anticipated to be in attendance. Therefore, out of an abundance of caution with respect to compliance with the Ralph M. Brown Act, a special meeting of the Planning Commission has been called and duly noticed, making this a joint meeting of the two Commissions. However, to the extent the items on the agenda are not within the jurisdiction of the Planning Commission, the Planning Commissioners may comment or discuss but cannot participate in the vote on the items.

I. CALL TO ORDER

- II. ROLL CALL
- III. CONSENT CALENDAR

IV. INTRODUCTIONS/PRESENTATION

a. None

V. PUBLIC ORAL COMMUNICATIONS ON AGENDA ITEMS

The public may at this time address the Board/Commission/Committee on any matters within the jurisdiction of the Carson Economic Development Commission or Carson Planning Commission or on any items on the agenda. Speakers are limited to no more than three minutes, speaking once. Oral communications will be limited to 30 minutes unless extended by order of the Chair with the approval of the Commission.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

a. Economic Development Strategic Plan Presentation; Comments from Mayor & Planning Commissioners; Consider recommendation of Economic Development Commission to City Council regarding adoption of Economic Development Strategic Plan.

VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

a. None

VIII. PUBLIC ORAL COMMUNICATIONS FOR MATTERS NOT LISTED ON THE AGENDA

The public may at this time address the members of the Economic Development Commission or Planning Commission on any matters within the jurisdiction of the respective Commissions. No action may be taken on non-agendized items except as authorized by law. Speakers are requested to limit their comments to no more than three minutes each, speaking once.

IX. COMMISSION MEMBERS ORAL COMMUNICATIONS / ITEMS FOR FUTURE AGENDAS

- X. STAFF ORAL COMMUNICATIONS
- XI. ADJOURNMENT

This Board/Commission/Committee is subject to the Ralph M. Brown Act. Among other things, the Brown Act requires that the Board/Commission/Committees agenda be posted at least 72 hours in advance of each meeting (or 24 hours for a special meeting) and that the public be allowed to comment on agenda items before the Board/ Commission/ Committee and items not on the Board/Commission/Committee agenda but are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Board/ Commission/ Committee. The Board/Commission/Committee may limit public comments to a reasonable amount of time, generally three (3) minutes per person.