Business License/ Permit Application

 

The Business License/Permit Application form is used for ALL business activities, including non-profit organizations.

All business activity, both commercial and homebased, must meet and operate in accordance to all federal, state, local laws, and the Carson Municipal Code.  

NEW BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION:  When applying for a new business license for a commercial business located within the Carson city boundaries, an initial application fee of $100.00 is applied.  A Carson homebased business or a business located in another city (but conducting work in the City of Carson), a $25.00 application fee is applied.  An application fee is in addition to the business tax and permit fee (if applicable).

The City does offer apportioned business license tax rates for businesses that are located in another city but conduct business in Carson.  Please click on the Apportioned License Fees link for additional information.

ANNUAL BUSINESS LICENSE RENEWAL:  The business license and permit (if applicable) is renewed and paid annually.  The renewal and payment is due following the business license expiration date (which is listed on your business license certificate).  If the renewal is not received by the required due date, the account is assessed a penalty.  The Carson Municipal Code links pertaining to penalties is located below.  In addition to the owed business tax and permit fees (if applicable), a $15.00 processing fee is applied.

NOTE: In 1996, the Carson voters passed Measure K which allows the City to annually adjust the Tax Rate Schedule for business license tax and permit, based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).  Therefore, the tax rate will vary year to year.  The current year tax rate schedule link is located below.
 

 
 
Business License/Permit Application ( PDF )
Regulatory Permit Fee Schedule
Apportioned License Fees
Business License Penalty (Section 6326)
Business Permit Penalty (Section 6395)
2018 Tax Rate Schedule ( PDF )
 

On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed into law SB1186 which adds a state mandated fee of $1.00 to an application for a local business license or similar instrument or permit, and the renewal. The purpose of this fee is to fund certified access specialist (CASp) compliance education and training so construction-related disability accessibility requirements are met.  

On October 11, 2017, Governor Brown signed into law AB1379 which extends the CASp fee indefinitely.  From January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2023, AB1379 increased the CASp fee from $1 to $4.  On January 1, 2024, the CASp fee will revert back to $1.

Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dga/Home.aspx 
The Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov 
The California Commission on Disability Access at www.ccda.ca.gov  

 


For questions regarding your city licensing requirements, please contact the Revenue Division staff at (310) 952-1748.

 

 

City Hall Contact

701 E Carson Street
Carson, CA 90745
(310) 830-7600, 7 AM - 6 PM
Monday - Thursday
24-hour automated: (310) 952-1700

NEWSLETTER

Please Click Here to join our eNotify for City Council Agendas.